Guest post: What NOT to do when Black Lives Matter stages a protest at your goal marathon

Ya know what would be a real miracle? If at some point in the race, EVERYONE joined the die-in. Imagine the runners, watchers, vendors, police, everyone, all stopping for a few minutes of silent protest. THAT would be powerful.

Cheaper Than Therapy

You’re in for a real treat today. Angry Runner found herself (rightfully) horrified by some online commentary and she felt compelled to write up a proper tirade about it. Since she shut down her own blog, I offered her this venue. I could say some bullshit disclaimer about how her remarks do not necessarily reflect the opinions and viewpoints of this blog, but nah. I agree 100% with every word. You’ll see.

Thirty years ago, I ran my first race. I was wearing middle-aged gym teacher shorts and Velcro shoes. It started with a whistle on a miserably hot stretch of pavement in the middle of a military base. When I finished, a volunteer handed me an index card where I wrote my name and time. (Though in fairness, pretty sure my mom helped me with this part because I was like 6.)

Over the next 10 years or so, I ran a lot of…

View original post 809 more words

Leave a Reply

