A Message for the Trump Era

“Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the empires of earth; I have not come to bring peace to them, but a sword.For I have come to set a man against his fascist father, and a daughter against her homophobic mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law who would deny healthcare to the poor; and one’s foes who support the empire will be members of one’s own household.

Whoever loves father or mother more than justice is not worthy of me; and whoever loves son or daughter more than justice is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up the work of justice and liberation and follow me is not worthy of me. Those who find their life in the empire will lose the life they found in me, and those who lose their life of comfort for the sake of justice will find abundant life in me.”

These are the words of Jesus from Matthew 10:34-36, as queered/translated by me.

Leave a Reply

